top of page

Mean Girls Adaptation Disappoints Audience

The following story was written by a student on The Staff of The Jaguar Times as part of Hilliard Bradley High School’s Production Course


By Erin Copeland

Staff Writer


Reneé Rapp stands confidently in Mean Girls poster. Photo by: Erin Copeland. 


The new "Mean Girls" movie made its way into theaters January 12 and has had many reactions. Some people have strong opinions that it’s a musical. They kept some of the original parts to the movie but also cut and added new parts. 


A lot of people liked the movie for the music and for the acting as well. Hannah Snyder (12) says, “I liked the fact that it was a musical and I think it was well done. I liked how they kept some of the original parts, but I feel like you have to have a taste for musicals.”


Many people know the original "Mean Girls" but it has been a broadway musical since 2017. Noha Abu (12) states, “I think if you're not a big broadway fan it was still good to see it, and I think it was still funny. It was still the same "Mean Girls" and I think the new actors did a good job, but I think the music part made a lot of people not like it.” The way viewers feel depends on if they’ve seen the original or the broadway "Mean Girls." 


While some liked the new movie, some did not. Mrs. Fant says “I think some of the actors that were chosen don’t have the best vocal ability, but I think they did well at doing the premise and the songs that they chose. The songs that they cut I was ok with but just some of the characters didn’t bring the musical element onto the screen in the way that I would have wanted.” 


"Mean Girls" was a hit or miss movie to multiple different audiences including teachers. Miss Kowalski, Math teacher, says, “I know the fact that people didn't know it was a musical (similarly with "Wonka") was a huge thing on TikTok. What I did not expect was for the teenagers in the theater to loudly boo at EVERY SONG. That really ruined the experience for me and my friends.” 


It’s unfortunate how other people can ruin movies for you just because they don’t like it themselves. Kowalski also said, “My only complaint was that I was not impressed with the actress playing Cady (the lead), that is supposed to be a powerful part with great vocals, and sadly, I feel like she was a little boring. Moana playing Janice was iconic and the actor playing Damien was hilarious.” 


I personally liked the movie in general, but I think you have to have a taste for musicals to enjoy it. I thought the songs and singing were okay, and I definitely liked some songs more than others. My favorite song was "I’d rather be sung" by Auli’i Carvalho. The movie was more funny then I thought it would be which I liked. I also enjoyed how they kept most of the original iconic quotes that made mean girls so popular. Overall, it was a good movie and I’d watch it again. 


8 views

Recent Posts

See All

Bradley students compare Hilliard coffee shops

The following story was written by by a student on The Staff of The Jaguar Times as part of Hilliard Bradley High School’s Production Course Lina Elmajdoubi Opinion Editor Erin Copeland Staff Writer S

bottom of page