top of page

Damsel deserves the number one movie rating on Netflix 

The following story was written by by a student on The Staff of The Jaguar Times as part of Hilliard Bradley High School’s Production Course


Millie Bobby Brown takes a group picture with the cast of the Damsel movie during its premiere. Photo by Getty Images. 
Millie Bobby Brown takes a group picture with the cast of the Damsel movie during its premiere. Photo by Getty Images. 

The story of the new movie “Damsel” that premiered on March 8th on Netflix stars famous actress Millie Bobby Brown as Elodie. Elodie is a Princess that comes from a harsh and barren land that has no food, where her people are starving. She has been given the opportunity to marry Prince Henry of Aurea, which would save her kingdom. But is it all a scheme underneath? Will she survive and help her people obtain a bright future?


I personally loved this fantasy movie.  One of the reasons I enjoy watching movies is because I think there is a lesson in each one that helps me grow as a person, and Damsel showcases the lengths people are willing to go to in order to help the people they care about. Elodie is a beautiful character who fought till the end because that’s what her mother would have wanted her to do. Spoiler alert: She not only rescued her sister from the dragon, but showed her that the royal family of Aurea was lying to her about the three girls they sacrificed, which has become a tradition.


Brown also starred in “Stranger Things,” which I did not want to watch but I would not have expected her to be able to act the part in a fantasy movie because she hasn’t acted much in fantasy anything as far as I know. But she exceeded my expectations and I’m glad I was proven wrong because this might be one of my favorite movies yet. 


In every movie lies a story, and the audience can choose whether to connect with it or. I one hundred percent recommend watching this movie because I enjoyed it very much. Not only would I watch it again, but I would recommend it to all my friends. I have watched it twice already and I will not get bored of watching it again. Because the plot is so true to what people experience in their everyday lives… maybe not the dragon part, though. 






11 views

Recent Posts

See All

Bradley students compare Hilliard coffee shops

The following story was written by by a student on The Staff of The Jaguar Times as part of Hilliard Bradley High School’s Production Course Lina Elmajdoubi Opinion Editor Erin Copeland Staff Writer S

Mean Girls Adaptation Disappoints Audience

The following story was written by a student on The Staff of The Jaguar Times as part of Hilliard Bradley High School’s Production Course By Erin Copeland Staff Writer Reneé Rapp stands confidently in

bottom of page