top of page

Journalism and Broadcast is great way to be involved

by Lina Elmajdoubi

Staff Writer

The following story was written by a student on the staff of The Jaguar Times as part of Hilliard Bradley High School’s Journalism Production course.

The Jag Times 2021-2022 staff member group photo . Photo by Miss Braemer
The Jag Times 2021-2022 staff members pose for a group photo . Photo by Miss Braemer

The Jaguar Times is a class where students at Hilliard Bradley High School come together and make the daily announcements which are played everyday during third period. We also write articles about interesting and relevant topics which include but are not limited to: opinion pieces, news, and student life. Everything that goes on at school is covered by these students.


Journalism and Broadcast is an amazing elective for students to take when they start high school. Miss. Braemer, the Jaguar Times adviser says “The Jag Times is a family environment where kids get the opportunity to explore nearly anything that interests them. It’s a tight knit staff that works together to share the voices of Bradley.” I personally love how everyone is able to come together, without knowing each other, and become a team that works for a common goal.


Jahari Henri (12) staff writer shares, “I will genuinely miss Broadcast when I graduate.” Broadcast is a beautiful part of this class that gives you the chance to be on camera if you enjoy anchoring. Arts, Style and Beauty Editor Lauren Dame (11) states “My favorite part of the class is broadcast. This is because I like going home and editing the news and making it my own.” I also love editing so much. I never thought I would like it but I have grown to like it.


Another aspect that I have gained a new perspective on is the way this class helps you understand friendship and the way you learn to open up to your new friends. Grace Savage (9) says, “I love the friends I made here.” On the Jaguar Times you are able to make friends from all the grades and share a passion with them. At the beginning of the year, I felt really awkward because I thought I didn’t belong but it wasn’t just that. The biggest issue was I didn’t know my classmates and as I got to know them, I have realized how far I have come to love bonding with them. Joining this talented group was a great decision I have made and they have helped me explore a new part of myself. Looking back at how it started and how my first year with them is almost over I am proud to say that they made my freshman year memorable.


At the end of the day I think this is a place where you can be apart of something that makes an impact. There is also some free time to work on assignments for other classes. I like it so much because I feel like I am a part of something that makes an impact and helps spread students voices. Being a part of this program looks good on your college application or resume if you have a specific scholarship in mind. This class is about making memories, friends, and leaving a legacy.


36 views

Recent Posts

See All

Bradley students compare Hilliard coffee shops

The following story was written by by a student on The Staff of The Jaguar Times as part of Hilliard Bradley High School’s Production Course Lina Elmajdoubi Opinion Editor Erin Copeland Staff Writer S

bottom of page