top of page

Get freebies on your special day around Hilliard

Avah Fetzer

Assistant Editor-In-Chief

All of the birthday freebies I tried look delicious! Images taken by Avah Fetzer (11).
All of the birthday freebies I tried look delicious! Images taken by Avah Fetzer (11).

Every teenager’s favorite two words are “free food”, which is why most of them try to get all that they can for free on their birthday. Birthdays are often known for getting coupons or even free items from certain stores and restaurants. However, not many people know where to look or how to obtain these items. I spent my birthday driving around Hilliard and the surrounding areas, trying to compile the best list of birthday freebies to share with any teenager wondering where to go.


Dunkin’ Donuts

After downloading the free rewards app, Dunkin gives you a free drink of your choice for your birthday. Despite the very chilly weather, I decided to use it on one of my favorite Dunkin drinks, a frozen matcha latte with four pumps of raspberry. The great thing about this coupon is that you can use it on any size drink, so of course I had to get a large! This reward popped up a few days before my birthday so I was able to make the trip a few days earlier!


Starbucks

One of the most well known birthday freebies is Starbucks. Similar to Dunkin’ Donuts, after downloading their app and signing up for the rewards program, you get a reward for a free drink on your birthday. Ava Riley (11) states that this is her favorite birthday freebie as she gets to, “try something new for free”, which can always be super exciting! You can also use this on some of your old favorites. I decided to use this on one of my favorite drinks, a blended strawberry lemonade, as it covers the most expensive drink on your bill. The only downside about this reward is that it’s only available for one day. However when it comes to free Starbucks, many teens will drop everything and head to their closest store.


Panera

Similarly, you have to download Panera’s rewards app in order to receive a free birthday pastry. I was wanting to use this on a chocolate croissant, but unfortunately they were all out. Instead, I used it on a cinnamon roll which was equally as delicious! The advantage of this reward is that it doesn’t expire until a week after your birthday!


Krispy Kreme

Krispy Kreme is probably one of the best places for your birthday freebies. Gaby Soto (12) says Krispy Kreme has her favorite birthday freebie as you “get a whole dozen” of donuts. In addition to the free glazed donut you receive from downloading their app, you get a whole dozen of glazed donuts. Krispy Kreme is known for having really great, fresh donuts and their birthday reward could not be more perfect!


Great American Cookies

Great American Cookies also has a really great birthday reward! You get five dollars off your purchase without a minimum spending amount after downloading their free app. Plus who doesn’t love cookies? Junior Libby Nilsen exclaims, “Cookies are my favorite dessert” and I can certainly agree that they are delicious. I used this to get a slice of cookie cake with chocolate frosting, even without using the entire five dollars from the reward. Unfortunately, the money you don’t use from the reward doesn’t stay on your account, but five dollars is more than enough for an individual treat!


Graeter's

An Ohio classic everyone must have on their birthday is Graeter’s! After having the free rewards app downloaded and logged into for a while, you receive a reward for a free sundae up to two scoops! I decided to use this coupon on something I’ve never tried before, a banana split. And of course, the delicious ice cream did not disappoint. Unfortunately, you do have to make a few purchases from the ice cream shop beforehand in order for the reward to show up, but it is totally worth it! Additionally, this reward doesn’t expire until a week after your special day.


Crumbl Cookies

A newer addition to the Hilliard area, Crumbl, has a great deal as well! After signing up for their rewards program in the store or on the free app, you receive a free cookie for your birthday. Their cookies rotate weekly, so I was hoping I would have the voucher on a week that had good flavors, and luckily I did! The cookie I got was called chocolate caramel and it was absolutely delicious. Luckily, if you are not a fan of the flavor lineups, you have a month to redeem your free cookie!


Rita’s

One of my other favorite places to go to, Rita’s, has a pretty good freebie as well. After downloading the app, you receive a coupon for a free small italian ice. Rita’s has delicious Italian ice and I used the reward on one of my favorite flavors, mango. This reward also doesn’t expire until a week after your birthday!


McDonald’s​​

The McDonald’s birthday reward is good, but the timing of it is weird. I have the app downloaded as they give great deals even when it’s not your birthday and noticed I had a reward for a free pie that expired at the beginning of February. I’m not really sure when it first showed up but it seems like it expires on the first day of the month you were born in. Regardless, the apple pie I had was delicious!


With whatever sweet treat you like, there are so many great deals to help you celebrate your special day. Stop by your favorite coffee shop or go splurge on a cookie and donut. However you spend your birthday, make every second count as it’s a once a year celebration.


29 views

Recent Posts

See All

Bradley students compare Hilliard coffee shops

The following story was written by by a student on The Staff of The Jaguar Times as part of Hilliard Bradley High School’s Production Course Lina Elmajdoubi Opinion Editor Erin Copeland Staff Writer S

bottom of page