top of page

Crumbl cookies not worth the dough

The following story was written by a student on the staff of The Jaguar Times as part of Hilliard Bradley High School’s Journalism Production course.


by Alana Bridges

Editor-In-Chief

Chocolate York Cookie, Moms Recipe, Sugar Cookie, and the Milk Chocolate Chip cookie in the Ccrumbl cookies box.Photo by Alana Bridges.
We tired the Chocolate York Cookie, Moms Recipe, Sugar Cookie, and the Milk Chocolate Chip cookie in the Ccrumbl cookies box. Photo by Alana Bridges.

Warm gooey chocolate, soft crumbly dough, and the smell of grandma's house is what I think about when I hear cookies. Crumbl Cookies is a store that specializes in unique cookie flavors. Their new store opened December 9th, 2021 in Hilliard Ohio. After hearing so many good things about these cookies and the different flavors they offered each week I decided to try it out. I had high expectations going into the taste test and was disappointed in every way.

I tried four of the six flavors they had available for two reasons. The first reason is that it was twelve fifty for four cookies and four dollars for one cookie which is a little pricey in my opinion. I also chose not to order them all because two of the flavors,(gingerbread and eggnog) I knew I wouldn't like.


I started off my review with the Chocolate york cookie. I was very disappointed as it was way too sweet and there wasn't enough York filling to cookie dough ratio. Though it was decorated cute it had no other appealing attributes and was not worth the stomach ache after.


I then continued to try the Sugar cookie. It was by far the cutest of all the cookies since it had a ton of colors from the sprinkles. I was expecting this cookie to be on the sweeter side and to have a vanilla taste like most sugar cookies. After the first bite I knew this wasn't going to be the case. Even though the name is sugar cookie it tasted like a ball of flour with sprinkles. There was very little icing and it was almost too gooey on the inside.


After the first two being disappointing I had lost faith in the other two cookies. I decided to try the mom's recipe cookie next thinking it was just a chocolate chip cookie. As I took the first bite I got hit with an oatmeal raisin taste accompanied by chocolate. While it wasn't the worst flavor possible it was not the best either. It left a weird aftertaste and was too sweet for my liking. I think if it had less chocolate chips or sugar it would've been a great cookie but I didn't feel like it deserved the title Moms recipe.


I concluded my taste test with their staple cookie that they have all the time, which is the Milk Chocolate chip cookie. It looked very appealing and was super warm to the touch. Unfortunately that was the only good thing about it. I was most let down by this cookie because I felt it is hard to mess up a chocolate chip cookie. It was too much of everything and didn't really taste like a chocolate chip cookie.


Though they have so many good reviews I was not impressed with the food I received. It was disappointing in so many ways and unfortunately not worth the money you will spend. I think the idea of having new flavors each week is cool and exciting but you have to know how to make the cookies the right way. If you have a really sweet tooth and love paying an arm and a leg for food check out Crumbl cookies but if not just make them at home, they'll taste better and it'll be more fun.



43 views

Recent Posts

See All

Bradley students compare Hilliard coffee shops

The following story was written by by a student on The Staff of The Jaguar Times as part of Hilliard Bradley High School’s Production Course Lina Elmajdoubi Opinion Editor Erin Copeland Staff Writer S

bottom of page