top of page

From Senior to Freshman: How Bradley student started her college career early

The following story was written by a student on the staff of The Jaguar Times as part of Hilliard Bradley High School’s Journalism Production course.


by Addison Maley 

Editor-in-Chief


Jasmine Meyers (12) poses for senior photos. Photo from: Jasmine Meyers (12) 
Jasmine Meyers (12) poses for senior photos. Photo from: Jasmine Meyers (12) 

Jasmine Meyers is a Bradley Senior studying at Mount Vernon Nazarene University, getting the full college experience by living on campus. I had the privilege to ask her about this opportunity, and her experiences as a college student. 


What is your specific college situation? How were you able to do this? 


I am currently enrolled as a student at both MVNU and Hilliard Bradley. However, I'm not taking any classes at Bradley; instead I'm a full time student at MVNU living on campus. I have not graduated from high school yet, but through the CCP resources Bradley and MVNU both offer, I was able to have this opportunity.


How does your tuition/board work?


This year I have had to pay for room and board because I'm living on campus, but everything else has been financially taken care of by Hilliard’s CCP program. All of my classes are free unless I fail them and even my textbooks are provided for me.


Why did you decide to go this route?


At the end of my junior year I had already finished all my high school credits and decided to explore some other opportunities for the upcoming year. My brother also goes to MVNU and has met several CCP students living on campus and shared the potential of this opportunity. I decided to check it out and it was an option I couldn't resist. 


Meyers and friends celebrate the end of a week-long competition between residential buildings to build community. Photo from: Jasmine Meyers. 
Meyers and friends celebrate the end of a week-long competition between residential buildings to build community. Photo from: Jasmine Meyers. 

Is this a route you would recommend to others? What kind of people do you think would benefit?


This is absolutely a route I would recommend for others. I have essentially had an entire year of college for way less money. I would recommend this for students who have few to none high school credits left to obtain and are ready for the independence college life provides. 


How has college been? How have you acclimated?


Personally, college has been incredible and I feel extremely connected to the community. Nobody has treated me any differently and everyone essentially views me as a normal college freshman. In an academic aspect it isn't very different from other CCP classes I had taken in prior years through CSCC. The biggest difference is that college provides a ton of flexibility in my day to day life and I have a lot more free time than I ever had in high school. Overall, I acclimated well and college already feels like home.


Meyers and her friend participate in a beginning-of-the-year ribbon cutting ceremony to commemorate the start of their college career. Once graduated, they will cut a second ribbon with their graduating year printed on it. Photo from: Jasmine Meyers. 
Meyers and her friend participate in a beginning-of-the-year ribbon cutting ceremony to commemorate the start of their college career. Once graduated, they will cut a second ribbon with their graduating year printed on it. Photo from: Jasmine Meyers. 

Why MVNU? What are you studying/future plans?


I chose MVNU because it's the school my dad went to and my brother is currently attending. The community here is extremely beautiful, and I was able to start the school year already having several connections that felt like family. I am currently studying psychology and plan on becoming a counselor in the future.


Anything else you want to share? Fun stories, favorite classes, etc etc.


The college environment is relaxed and laid back, so oftentimes I get to spend my free time doing spontaneous and fun things with friends. For example movie marathons, going on late night walks, visiting lots of coffee shops, star gazing, participating in campus competitions, and buying fish.



Meyers and a group of friends attend a Chris Renzema concert in Columbus. Photo from: Jasmine Meyers. 
Meyers and a group of friends attend a Chris Renzema concert in Columbus. Photo from: Jasmine Meyers. 





21 views
bottom of page