top of page

Bradley students critique Starbucks’, Dunkin’s iced lattes

by Lina Elmajdoubi and Lauren Schuler

Staff Writers


The following story was written by a student on The Staff of The Jaguar Times as part of Hilliard Bradley High School’s Production Course.

It is starting to look a lot like fall. While it is almost time for midterms for the students of Bradley High School, everyone seems to be getting coffee during their day.   Everyone knows how large of a part coffee plays in some people’s lives. Kimora Amos (9) comments, “I like starbucks better, because Dunkin messed up my order.” To some that may not seem like a good reason to not like Dunkin, but we would also prefer Starbucks as well if Dunkin got the order wrong. Lexi Fields (10) notes, “I prefer Starbucks because it is just better.’’ We certainly agree on that. His response is totally different from everyone else’s. Mr. Warfield states “I don’t drink lattes, I’m a grown person. I drink black coffee.” There are also people like Mr. Warfield who love black coffee and there is nothing wrong with that.            The fact that there isn’t a Dunkin in Hilliard and three Starbucks makes it easier to go there instead of going out of the way. Miss Kowalski, a Freshman Algebra teacher adds, “Where I live in Dublin, there are no Dunkin Donuts anywhere.” That is one of the main issues with that. She continues to say, “So I am forced to go to Starbucks and get an iced latte there, whenever I see a Dunkin though I do make my boyfriend stop and I get it, I am very comfortable with the Starbucks menu.” I have a problem with trying new things unless I am sure I’ll like it. Usually I just stick with what I always get. Algebra teacher Mrs. Bergstrom approaches it this way, “I think I would actually prefer to try a [Dunkin] latte since there’s no Dunkin’s around here.” Dunkin has one vote. She resumes by saying, “I have had Starbucks lattes before and they’re not bad but I would be interested in comparing them.” Hopefully, in Hilliard’s future there will be a Dunkin Donuts location and many people will get the chance to try it.  I think we all know that no one would be able to survive without caffeine from coffee. There are people who truly do not like it, however this is something that most of us can be grateful for. We personally think Starbucks is better than Dunkin. We have tried both but Starbucks iced lattes are not as strong as Dunkin’s. For people who love their strong coffee, Dunkin is the place to go! But for people like us, who prefer sugared coffee, we would encourage you to go to Starbucks. During this holiday season we motivate you to try something new and get out of your comfort zone when it comes to holiday drinks!
It is starting to look a lot like fall. While it is almost time for midterms for the students of Bradley High School, everyone seems to be getting coffee during their day. Everyone knows how large of a part coffee plays in some people’s lives. Kimora Amos (9) comments, “I like starbucks better, because Dunkin messed up my order.” To some that may not seem like a good reason to not like Dunkin, but we would also prefer Starbucks as well if Dunkin got the order wrong. Lexi Fields (10) notes, “I prefer Starbucks because it is just better.’’ We certainly agree on that. His response is totally different from everyone else’s. Mr. Warfield states “I don’t drink lattes, I’m a grown person. I drink black coffee.” There are also people like Mr. Warfield who love black coffee and there is nothing wrong with that. The fact that there isn’t a Dunkin in Hilliard and three Starbucks makes it easier to go there instead of going out of the way. Miss Kowalski, a Freshman Algebra teacher adds, “Where I live in Dublin, there are no Dunkin Donuts anywhere.” That is one of the main issues with that. She continues to say, “So I am forced to go to Starbucks and get an iced latte there, whenever I see a Dunkin though I do make my boyfriend stop and I get it, I am very comfortable with the Starbucks menu.” I have a problem with trying new things unless I am sure I’ll like it. Usually I just stick with what I always get. Algebra teacher Mrs. Bergstrom approaches it this way, “I think I would actually prefer to try a [Dunkin] latte since there’s no Dunkin’s around here.” Dunkin has one vote. She resumes by saying, “I have had Starbucks lattes before and they’re not bad but I would be interested in comparing them.” Hopefully, in Hilliard’s future there will be a Dunkin Donuts location and many people will get the chance to try it. I think we all know that no one would be able to survive without caffeine from coffee. There are people who truly do not like it, however this is something that most of us can be grateful for. We personally think Starbucks is better than Dunkin. We have tried both but Starbucks iced lattes are not as strong as Dunkin’s. For people who love their strong coffee, Dunkin is the place to go! But for people like us, who prefer sugared coffee, we would encourage you to go to Starbucks. During this holiday season we motivate you to try something new and get out of your comfort zone when it comes to holiday drinks!

It is starting to look a lot like fall. While it is almost time for midterms for the students of Bradley High School, everyone seems to be getting coffee during their day.


Everyone knows how large of a part coffee plays in some people’s lives. Kimora Amos (9) comments, “I like Starbucks better, because Dunkin messed up my order.” To some that may not seem like a good reason to not like Dunkin, but we would also prefer Starbucks as well if Dunkin got the order wrong. Lexi Fields (10) notes, “I prefer Starbucks because it is just better.’’ We certainly agree on that. His response is totally different from everyone else’s. Mr. Warfield states “I don’t drink lattes, I’m a grown person. I drink black coffee.” There are also people like Mr. Warfield who love black coffee and there is nothing wrong with that.


The fact that there isn’t a Dunkin in Hilliard and three Starbucks makes it easier to go there instead of going out of the way. Miss Kowalski, a Freshman Algebra teacher adds, “Where I live in Dublin, there are no Dunkin Donuts anywhere.” That is one of the main issues with that. She continues to say, “So I am forced to go to Starbucks and get an iced latte there, whenever I see a Dunkin though I do make my boyfriend stop and I get it, I am very comfortable with the Starbucks menu.” I have a problem with trying new things unless I am sure I’ll like it. Usually I just stick with what I always get.


Algebra teacher Mrs. Bergstrom approaches it this way, “I think I would actually prefer to try a [Dunkin] latte since there’s no Dunkin’s around here.” Dunkin has one vote. She resumes by saying, “I have had Starbucks lattes before and they’re not bad but I would be interested in comparing them.” Hopefully, in Hilliard’s future there will be a Dunkin Donuts location and many people will get the chance to try it.


I think we all know that no one would be able to survive without caffeine from coffee. There are people who truly do not like it, however this is something that most of us can be grateful for. We personally think Starbucks is better than Dunkin. We have tried both but Starbucks iced lattes are not as strong as Dunkin’s. For people who love their strong coffee, Dunkin is the place to go! But for people like us, who prefer sugared coffee, we would encourage you to go to Starbucks. During this holiday season we motivate you to try something new and get out of your comfort zone when it comes to holiday drinks!



39 views
bottom of page