top of page

Bradley students weigh in on

The following story was written by a student on the staff of The Jaguar Times as part of Hilliard Bradley High School’s Journalism Production course.


by Reese Nordyke

Staff Writer

Reese Nordyke (11) shows off her “square shaped” nails. Photo by Reese Nordyke (11).
Reese Nordyke (11) shows off her “square shaped” nails. Photo by Reese Nordyke (11).

With homecoming happening recently at Hilliard Bradley, students all around school have fresh manicures. In an era of dip, gel, and acrylic a lot more goes into getting your nails done than just a simple color choice.


There are 7 main nail shapes, the three most popular being almond; rounded nails that are quite literally shaped like an almond, square; the classic, and coffin; square nails that are thinner and more angled on the sides resembling a coffin shape.


Everyone has their own opinion about which shape is the best or the most trendy and it can be a quite controversial topic between manicure lovers. Mrs. Keller says, “I prefer the almond nail shape, I used to always do square but I like changing it up, I feel like almond is more trendy right now.”


That’s a very popular opinion as almond is arguably the most trending nail shape right now. Bella Watkins (11) agrees “I like almond the best, I just love the way my nails look when I get that shape.” However, not everyone is an almond fan, Katelyn Yoder (11) says “I almost always get coffin, I prefer the way it looks to other shapes”. Overall there are so many different nail shapes and preferences which can be unique to everyone.


Doing research and forming your own opinion is a great way to figure out which shape is best for you.




3 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page